Latest Reviews

And a very merry Feministmas was had

A very excited Becky Grisedale-Sherry attends Feministmas, an alternative grrrl punk take on the Christmas party

Becky Grisedale-Sherry // 28 January 2018

Categories: Music, Reviews

“I hope this work can inspire women and men to get in touch with and honour the creative power of the mother”

Erin Aniker speaks with artist Camille Sanson about the mental health fears and stigmas surrounding childbirth and motherhood

Erin Aniker // 26 January 2018

Categories: Art, Culture and Media, Family, Features, Interviews, Reviews

Listen without prejudice?

Joanna Whitehead reviews Under My Thumb: Songs That Hate Women And The Women Who Love Them, a collection of essays exploring misogyny in music

Joanna Whitehead // 22 January 2018

Categories: Books, Reviews

Goodbye Leia (and thank you, Carrie)

Emily Zinkin says goodbye to Carrie Fisher and Princess Leia but is still not done going on adventures in a galaxy far, far away or smashing the space patriarchy

Emily Zinkin // 19 January 2018

Categories: Comics, Culture and Media, Features, Reviews

“And I can stay as long as I like, ‘cos no one’s calling me to come back inside”

Honeyblood rock Manchester

Cazz Blase // 8 January 2018

Categories: Music, Reviews

Visit Pussy Willow, a town (not) like any other

Jac Nunns reviews Tales from Pussy Willow, animated web series by Kate Jessop which pokes fingers and raises eyebrows at absurd yet commonplace situations

Jac Nunns // 4 January 2018

Categories: Comedy, Reviews

The last cultural taboo?

Kirsty Folan sees the hypocrisy in a UK society that is getting older but still expects its women musicians and performers to remain ageless

Kirsty Folan // 28 December 2017

Categories: Culture and Media, Features, Music, Stereotypes

Invisible to visible

Huma Munshi finds that despite some rough edges, The Invisible feels like a truthful depiction of what it means to travel far from home

Huma Munshi // 19 December 2017

Categories: Reviews, Theatre

Four funny femmes

Four Femmes on the Thames’ show hits the mark for Rhian Evans with its ability to shout from the rooftops about ‘unladylike’ subjects and female taboos with wit and class

Rhian Evans // 13 December 2017

Categories: Comedy, Reviews

  • The F-Word on Twitter
  • The F-Word on Facebook
  • Our XML Feeds