Latest Reviews

lesser-bohemians-squareThe dark side of romance

Harriet Kilikita reviews Eimear McBride’s The Lesser Bohemians and finds it to be a complex and subversive take on a classic romance narrative

Harriet Kilikita // 26 September 2016

Categories: Books, Reviews

13522861_401320016704894_7077074721086369874_oRomcom endgame, Bridget Jones style

EJ Stedman sends you to see the latest installment of the Bridget Jones saga

EJ Stedman // 20 September 2016

Categories: Films, Reviews

9781908326317Women of Bristol

Megan Stodel reviews Women and the City: Bristol 1373-2000, edited by Madge Dresser, and explores the worth of local history in providing more well-rounded accounts of women's lives during various eras

Megan Stodel // 17 September 2016

Categories: Books, Reviews

gd-image-squareA voice that refuses to be silenced

Charlie Morris reviews Manuela Salvi’s controversial novel Girl Detached, and finds it to be a bold and unflinching exploration of grooming and rape culture

Charlie Morris // 8 September 2016

Categories: Books, Reviews

suicide_squadMisogynist squad

Daniel Dyson feels that, even by action film standards, women characters in Suicide Squad are seriously short-changed

Daniel Dyson // 2 September 2016

Categories: Films, Reviews

LUNG E15Comedy and Theatre at the Edinburgh Fringe – last reviews

These are our last reviews from this year's Edinburgh Festival Fringe. Megan Stodel reviews both comedy and theatre

Megan Stodel // 22 August 2016

Categories: Comedy, Reviews, Theatre

Lucy McCormick Triple Threat pic 2 photo Tamsin DruryTheatre and Dance at the Edinburgh Fringe – part four

Our penultimate post of reviews from the Edinburgh Festival Fringe covering Theatre and Dance

Various Authors // 16 August 2016

Categories: Reviews, Theatre

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetTheatre at the Edinburgh Fringe – part three

Our fifth post of reviews from the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, covering theatre

Various Authors // 15 August 2016

Categories: Reviews, Theatre

bridget 29mm NEWComedy at the Edinburgh Fringe – part two

Our fourth post of reviews from the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. Today we're covering comedy. We'll have two more short comedy reviews at the end of next week

Various Authors // 14 August 2016

Categories: Comedy, Reviews

And the Rope.. (3)Theatre and Cabaret at the Edinburgh Fringe – part two

Here's our third post from the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, covering more shows from the Theatre section and Cabaret and Variety. We'll have more coverage of the festival early next week

Lissy Lovett // 11 August 2016

Categories: Reviews, Theatre

  • The F-Word on Twitter
  • The F-Word on Facebook
  • Our XML Feeds