Latest Reviews

The secret lives of white middle class America

Nick Beard is impressed with the nuanced way in which Big Little Lies deals with domestic violence and the emotional aftermath of rape

Nick Beard // 24 May 2017

Categories: Reviews, Television

A story that breaks the skin

Hannah Atkinson reviews Meena Kandasamy’s When I Hit You and finds it a heart-breaking and stunningly realistic portrayal of one woman’s experience of an abusive relationship

Hannah Atkinson // 22 May 2017

Categories: Books, Reviews

Dance meets digital

Lissy Lovett admires new installation Virgin Territory but does not quite agree with its viewpoint

Lissy Lovett // 18 May 2017

Categories: Art, Reviews, Theatre

Femininity, sexuality and technicolour magic

Becky Kukla thinks that The Love Witch’s kitsch and technicolour style and insightful view of sexuality, feminism and gender in our world today make the film an instant classic

Becky Kukla // 17 May 2017

Categories: Films, Reviews

Two women speak

No Place for a Woman’s treatment of mental health strikes a chord with Samuel Sims

Samuel Sims // 16 May 2017

Categories: Reviews, Theatre

Getting to the heart of the matter

Jemma Morgan finds Susan Hill’s From the Heart to be a poignant exploration of a woman’s experience in the 1950s, but urges us to tackle issues of inequality in the present, rather than simply looking back at the past

Jemma Morgan // 10 May 2017

Categories: Books, Reviews

13 Reasons Why Hannah Baker could have been me – and how the series lets us both down

This Mental Health Awareness Week, Caitlin Logan makes the case for better mental health representation on our screens

Caitlin Logan // 9 May 2017

Categories: Body and Health, Features, Television

Fantasies and politics

Rita Suszek is engaged and disturbed by Louise Orwin’s show about sexual desire and sexual violence at Camden People’s Theatre

Rita Suszek // 8 May 2017

Categories: Reviews, Theatre

The problem with ‘manning up’

Jo Whitehead enjoys the YA novel Girl Mans Up, but is somewhat disappointed at the lack of critical examination of sexist language and internalised misogyny

Joanna Whitehead // 4 May 2017

Categories: Books, Reviews

Young lives lived under the radar

Emily Holyoake is unsettled by Jane Upton’s play about young victims of abuse

Emily Holyoake // 3 May 2017

Categories: Reviews, Theatre

  • The F-Word on Twitter
  • The F-Word on Facebook
  • Our XML Feeds